Showing posts from January, 2017

Watford To Force Ighalo Move to China

Watford had forced Nigeria striker Odion Ighalo move to China.
Odion Ighalo had earlier stated earlier that he would remain in the premier league after turning down lucrative offers from the Chinese on three occasions.
Watford had possibly left the striker with no other choice as they made it clear they will allow him to move only to China. The club had earlier frustrated effort by West Brom to obtain the services of Ighalo, with their eyes on China club £21 million offer.
This will put Ighalo in a unusual situation as he might lose his place in the Super Eagles, as the coach had earlier warned him against moving to the less competitive China league.


The Africa Cup of Nation, AFCON is a football tournament competition that sees Africa nations compete for who will be King of Africa Football.
The first tournament in 1957 was hosted in Sudan and won by the Pharaoh of Egypt and the Egyptians remain the team to have won the AFCON tournament more with six titles to their name and have qualified for the tournament a record 22 times.
Nigeria has won the AFCON three times and have qualified 17 times for the tournament and have the third best records in terms of games won in Africa cup of Nations.
Below is the list of past winners:
YEAR      Winner 1957         Egypt 1959         United Arab Republic 1962         Ethiopia 1963         Ghana 1965         Ghana 1968         Congo DR 1970         Sudan 1972         Congo 1974         Zaire 1976         Morocco 1978         Ghana 1980          Nigeria 1982          Ghana 1984          Cameroon 1986          Egypt 1988          Cameroon 1990          Algeria 1992          Ivory coast 1994       …